# 10th Annual Student Design Competition For Safe, Affordable Ferries 2022-3

April 26 and 27, 2023
Sponsored by

**Worldwide Ferry Safety Association (WFSA)** 



# 2022- 2023: Design Competition

- WFSA: a not-for-profit NGO operating from New York NY for past 15 years and going strong.
- Promoting ship safety is its goal with particular focus on Domestic Ferry Safety.
- One aspect of WFSA's meeting its goals is through sponsorship of an Annual Student Design Competition for Safe and Affordable Ferries.
- Statistics show that ferry fatalities and loss of lives are predominantly in Developing Nations with limited resources and lack of safe and seaworthy ferries.
- Each year WFSA Board selects a location where safe and affordable ferry design would improve safety.
- 2023- 10<sup>th</sup> Annual Student Design competition.



# 2022- 2023: Design Competition

- ELECTRIC FERRY DESIGN
- Route: PASIG RIVER, MANILA, THE PHILIPPINES
- Specifications: As per the ToR
- > 70 enquiries, 26 Student Teams registered; 16 Submitted
- Internationally accredited Judge panel adjudicates
- First, Second and Third placed teams awarded



#### **2022- 2023: Student Teams**

2301	Bantam State Polytechnic, Indonesia
2303	University of Southampton, United Kingdom
2304	Universidad Veracruzana, Mexico
2305	BUET, Bangladesh
2306	NUST Karachi, Pakistan
2307	ITS Surabaya, Indonesia
2308	Universitat Rostock, Germany
2310	Bengkails State Polytechnic, Indonesia
2314	Hochschule Bremen, City University of Applied Sciences, Germany
2315	Universita Degli Studi Di Napoli Federico II, Italy
2316	University of La Coruna & University of Zagreb, Croatia
2317	IMU Visakhapatnam, India
2318	Diponegoro University, Java, Indonesia
2319	University of A Corona, Spain
2324	Mokpo National Maritime University, Korea
2326	Nagapasa Universitas, Indonesia



#### 2022-3- Winner: BREMEN

https://youtu.be/n38B7Y-HZiM



Omar Idrissi, Patrick Eymers, Alicia Meyer, Niklas Keen, Jan-Lucas Zelenka, Laurin Rösemeier (Captain)



### 2022-3- Winner: BREMEN

https://youtu.be/n38B7Y-HZiM





## 2022-3- 2<sup>nd</sup> Place: ROSTOCK





#### 2022-3- 2<sup>nd</sup> Place: ROSTOCK





#### **Group Members**

(Team Leader) Mahmoud ElSherif



Kakkollil Rajan Abhiram

Abbasi Maaz

Josipovic Marko







## 2022-3- 3<sup>rd</sup> Place: ITS NAWASENA, SURABAYA







#### 2022-23: AWARD PRESENTATION

- Acknowledgements to Jon Diller (Spear Power Systems Integration) and Edward Schwartz (ABB) for providing technical advice and support on the subject of the design. John Waterhouse (EBDG) for technical advice.
- Tutorial Webinars: Advisors response to student questions.
- ➤ Thanks to the TK Foundation for providing financial support to 2 students from each awarded teams to travel to this award presentations.
- Finally, I would like to invite Dr. Roberta Weisbrod, Executive Director of WFSA to come up and hand away the awards to our winners of the 2022-23 Annual Student WFSA 10th Design Competition.